Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC:

Rebuilding a KZ -- don't use Pit Stop Performance 10 Aug 2014 19:02 #643397

• autotech2@tx.rr.com
  • autotech2@tx.rr.com's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 7
Wanted to do a performance rebuild on my KZ1000-K2. Originally, I was planning on just doing the top-end myself. I’m a new-car dealership technician with 30 years’ experience – and I’ve assembled and repaired more engines than I care to mention. But I was referred to Pit Stop Performance in Orlando, FL, understanding they could perform a quality complete rebuild, and they specialize in classic Japanese muscle engines.

The bill was almost $5k, and it looked great in the crate, but here’s what I’ve learned since then:

Within the first 100 miles the oil leaks began. It leaked at the generator cover, clutch cover, gearbox cover, RS crank cover, and the oil pan. The cover leaks were caused by engine paint on all the gasket surfaces, combined with the use of inexpensive thin paper gaskets. I cleaned all surfaces down to the aluminum, and used OEM gaskets to make the repairs. During the process I replaced the oil level lens in the clutch cover (couldn’t read the oil level because the lens was installed backwards).

Next, the head gasket started leaking oil, significantly from the oil passages. Tried re-torquing the cylinder several times, but that didn’t help at all. At the same time I noticed small leaks beginning at the engine case-half seam.

While attempting to tune the carbs the engine wasn’t running quite right, so I performed a cylinder leakdown test, and discovered about a 25% leakage past the intake valves at two cylinders.

The head gasket oil leak, combined with the leaking valves, required me to teardown the top-end and send the head, cams, block, and pistons to a reputable machinist I work with here in the Dallas, TX area.