Painting My Bodywork

• DoubleDub
  • Topic Author
  • Visitor
02 Aug 2010 17:43 #387769 by DoubleDub
Painting My Bodywork was created by DoubleDub
DISCLAIMER:I am NOT a professional. I know NOTHING. If you don't like what I'm doing, I'm sure you know how to do it better. I want to learn and learn by doing. Therefore, I'm am trying to do it.

Whew. Now that that's out of the way...:P

This is my pictorial on how I'm painting my bodywork. Hoping to have it done in the next couple of days.

This is my third attempt. I learned that I didn't know how to clean my paint gun properly the first time. I learned that racing stripes are harder than they look the second time.

So now with some experience under my belt I'm hoping this will be the last time.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• DoubleDub
  • Topic Author
  • Visitor
02 Aug 2010 17:49 #387770 by DoubleDub
Replied by DoubleDub on topic Painting My Bodywork
After cleaning the innards of my tank using Muriatic Acid, I sanded the tank using my random orbital sander with some 80 grit paper. This has been the fastest way I have found to take paint back down to the primer layer at least, if not to the metal.

My tank has a few dents in it from being tipped over when I was in my teens, and I toyed with the idea of filling them, but instead I think I'll wait until I can afford to have those professionally repaired. They look pretty uniform (they appear to be from the forks hitting the tank) and I couldn't even tell for sure that they didn't belong until I started looking closer at other tanks.

Anyways - shots of the tank after spraying the first layer of primer are below. The camera struggles to focus on the primer, I'm assuming because it's all generally the same color. You can see by the filler cap where I didn't get it completely smooth.

Attachments:

• DoubleDub
  • Topic Author
  • Visitor
02 Aug 2010 17:51 #387771 by DoubleDub