Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC:

1979 KZ1000 LTD B3 Help wanted - Bike will not start 31 May 2018 04:59 #784397

• shrap66
  • shrap66's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 14
Hi,

I have reading a lot of posts on this forum and others to try and figure out what to do next.

The bike is a 1979 KZ1000, it has 15,500 KM's. Glacier Green !

The engine is a MKII. The bike has not started for over 5 years. It was sitting mostly in a garage. When I bought it the carbs, pipes and tank were off. The bike was very dirty in general.

I am not a mechanic. I have a Clymer manual and the manual I found on this site.

Here is what I have done to it so far;

Degreased the engine and frame, general clean up
New battery, charged it
Relocated the front flashers, changed a flasher relay, all lights, horn, starter, work as they should
New drive chain, adjusted
Spocket cover has the lower left bolt broken (PIC)
New clutch cable and spring
Opened up the alternator stator, cleaned it up, changed the gasket, 1 bolt on the top is broken (PIC)
Front and rear master cylinders were rebuilt, new rear hose, new banjos
Checked and cleaned the brake callipers.
New old school coils, hi-tens lines, caps and NGK B8es Sparkplugs, checked the gaps to specs
Checked the points, I used a very fine sand paper between them and then I cleaned up with contact cleaner, then lube and gap spacing, I am losing 1.3V between the battery and the coil leads.
Opened up the cam cover, looked quite dirty. Saw some white crystals deposits here and there. The gasket held up. Closed everything up.
The inside of the fuel tank looked pretty good, I rinsed it with fuel several times and running what was coming out with paper towels to see if there was any debris (there was)
did that until it was clean.
New rubber fuel lines with in-line filters
New K&N pods (the bike came without the airbox and the seller told me the carbs were adjusted for that and the 4 into 1)