Excessive shaking of the headlight and instrument panel after tired change.

• WarrensKZ
  • Topic Author
  • Visitor
27 Feb 2019 17:26 - 27 Feb 2019 17:27 #799356 by WarrensKZ
My son and I changed the tires on his bike over the weekend. Though Im a retired engineer, I got a call from my old company to work on a project for 6 months, so Im back to work.

I decided to get the tires changed on my KZ650 by a local shop. When I got back from work today, I rode the bike home and noticed the gauges and headlight shake when Im riding, something that was never present before. I told the shop about this and they said "when we changed the tire, we didnt at all touch the instrument panel of headlight. Yeah right! The bike is not like it was when I gave it to him. Now that area shakes, and its annoying.

I mentioned that I hadnt regularly rode this bike for 12 years, but maintained it while it was in the garage/barn. Its been quite some time since Ive wrapped my head around my 77.

What might have caused this "play" in the gauges and headlight now to where they bounce around at 60mph? From now on, I will never hand over my bike to have anything done. I'll do what I can myself.
Last edit: 27 Feb 2019 17:27 by WarrensKZ.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Blue58
  • User
  • Old, Bald and Fast
More
27 Feb 2019 17:56 #799359 by Blue58
Do you feel it in the handle bars? Would think it's tire blance .

• SWest
  • Sustaining Member
  • 10 22 2014
More
  • WarrensKZ
  • Topic Author
  • Visitor
27 Feb 2019 18:07 #799361 by WarrensKZ

Blue58 wrote: Do you feel it in the handle bars? Would think it's tire blance .

It was windy today so no way to tell. I will test again. Im so mad at myself for not doing it myself.

More
27 Feb 2019 18:35 #799364 by 650ed