78 KZ750 w/ 03 Gsx-r Swingarm, Monoshock mounting questions (Pics)

More
26 Mar 2006 07:55 #34401 by Jornum1
Hello, I have been cruising silently around this forum for about 6 or 7 months.
Like my subject says, I have a 78 kz750. I am swapping in, the front and rear suspension off a 03 Gsx-r with 04 hyabusha wheels.
I have the front end mounted fine, but I am struggling with mounting the monoshock.

Here is where I am at now. I have the swingarm mounted. I made up adapters to use the KZ swingarm bolt in the Gsx swingarm. I made up some pieces to mount the lower shock mount. I am stuck here.

I dont know what angle for the lower shock mount is correct. I have searched the site and dont see anything addressing this. I found a few pics from different setups. I am not very familiar with the workings of a monoshock setup.

I do realize that under no rider weight, the swingarm will be at more of a angle. I just used whatever I had to hold the swing arm off the frame.

Does this look right?
Does the angle look right?
Does the spacing look right?
I do realize that under no rider weight, the swingarm will be at more of a angle. I just used whatever I had to hold the swing arm off the frame.

Post edited by: Jornum1, at: 2006/03/26 10:56

Post edited by: steell, at: 2006/10/19 18:15

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Biquetoast
  • User
  • King Jeremy The Wicked
More
26 Mar 2006 08:01 #34402 by Biquetoast
Wow. I am absolutely jazzed about your bike.

Unfortunately, I don't have any scientific answers for you about the monoshock, but I do think it looks right. Actually, it looks awesome....

Also, I have a question: did the fork/tree go on without modification? You have the wheels spinning in my head....

(1.) '75/'76 KZ400D - Commuter
(2.) '78 KZ750B3 Twin - Commuter
(3.) '78 KZ750B3 Twin - Commuter
(4.) '75 KZ400D - Sold
kz750twins.com

More
26 Mar 2006 09:00 #34414 by Scotty355