Pilot jet sizing?

More
23 May 2016 07:00 #727999 by ajbonert
Pilot jet sizing? was created by ajbonert
Hello I am new to the sitr and this is my first post so give me a little break please. I recently bought a 82 kz550 and bobbed it out currently on the final stages of putting it back together and am having a few issues with the carbs. So the factory airbox wouldnt fit and I bought the dreaded pods because that was all I could do, I cut the rear section of the exhaust off so it is straight piped now. Well when I fired it up the first time it immediately revved all the way up and I had to shut it down. Did compression tests checked plug gaps checked plugs wires and capacitors and adjusted the adjustment screw started it up Did it again so I figured it was lean found out what size drill bits would work for a 104 main jet and for a 37 pilot jet. Now here is my question I went to drill out the pilot jet and it is supposed to be a 37 or in drill bit terms a #79 turns out once I stuck the but in there is was way to small and the but it actually takes to ream it out a little bit is a 63..to me this seems very large for a pilot jet and deffinatly isn't a factory size what could be my trouble? The bike ran perfect when it was bought and my thoughts would be if the jet was not correct it would run like shit or not at all. I know drilling isn't the best but I just started going back to school and can't afford anything right now so I'm doing what I can with what I got any help would be greatly appreciated. And the carbs are tk22s

82 kz550 bobber

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
23 May 2016 19:53 - 23 May 2016 19:54 #728166 by Nebr_Rex
Replied by Nebr_Rex on topic Pilot jet sizing?
Hope you are taking an English class. :woohoo:

2002 ZRX1200R
81 GPz1100
79 KZ1000st daily ride
79 KZ1000mk2 prodject
78 KZ650sr
78 KZ650b
81 KZ750e
80 KZ750ltd
77 KZ400/440 cafe project
76 KZ400/440 Fuel Injected

www.dotheton.com/forum/index.php?topic=39120.0