Fuel Leak

More
28 Feb 2016 13:19 #712894 by John_KZ650
Fuel Leak was created by John_KZ650
Hey Guys,

Looking for some tips here. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

I bought this 1979 KZ650 last August and since then I've been conducting some maintenance on it. It's my first bike and I have little experience so you could say I'm a novice. I bought it running but for one reason or another it wouldn't start anymore a couple weeks later. Since then I've:
-changed the oil/filter
-new fuel filter
-checked electrical = new ignition coil (right one was busted)
-took off the carbs and cleaned them up
FYI: I've been using a Clymer manual along with whatever information I can find on the web

The issue I'm wondering about here happened after after I put the carburetor back onto the bike. I came in the next day and found a huge fuel puddle underneath. Upon further inspection I saw that not only was the fuel leaking from the drain hoses attached to the float bowls but also somehow going through into the air box and leaking out through its drain hose as well[reference pic].

I did my best to re assemble my carburetor back to exactly how it was when I took it off but I must have messed something up.
Has anyone ran through this before?

Thanks!

-John
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• SWest
  • Sustaining Member
  • 10 22 2014
More
28 Feb 2016 13:36 #712900 by SWest
Replied by SWest on topic Fuel Leak
Many times. Search Clear tube test.
Steve
The following user(s) said Thank You: John_KZ650

More
28 Feb 2016 13:53 #712907 by Olajoe
Replied by Olajoe on topic Fuel Leak
your carb is like a toilet bowl. The worn out flapper lets the water keep draing out. Fix the flapper, then you want to go all pro, set the height. if it was running fine before, the height maybe good already. But the flapper needs some help.

More
28 Feb 2016 15:21 #712928 by 650ed
Replied by 650ed on topic Fuel Leak