2002 KZ1000 Police Clutch problem

More
11 Apr 2017 16:14 - 11 Apr 2017 16:17 #758978 by Gordoninnc
2002 KZ1000 Police Clutch problem was created by Gordoninnc
Folks, first off I'm sorry if you have answered this question a 1000 times. I tried using the search function and just ran out of patience.

I'm new to Kawasaki's and multis......but have been wrenching and riding since 1968.

I have a new to me 2002 KZ1000 police with less than 20,000 miles on the clock. I've been riding the wheels off of it and to tell you the truth, I LOVE it. BUT (you knew that was coming) the clutch has been dragging a bit on start up and I decided today to adjust the clutch to see if I could fix that.

First thing I noticed is that the adjustment at the lever was out quite a bit and so was the mid point adjustment. I have the factory manual and watched a couple of videos.....seemed easy enough. I followed the manual....bottomed out both adjusters, loosened the nut at the adjuster and then screw the adjuster clockwise until It stopped and backed off 1/4 turn. Went back to the adjusters to get the proper clearance at the leaver and once it was all set.....I tried the leaver and POP!!!!!!! something slipped/broke??????? Not sure what happened. The adjuster screw will not turn now....well, it might with some force but I didn't do that. Now there is there's a lot of slack in the cable.....it might be broken inside the cases. I noticed a frayed strand at the cable (at the leaver) so I know I need to replace the cable. I also know I have to go inside and see what's going on so I'm reading up on that. BUT (there's another one of those) I was hoping I could get some advise before I tear into it.

I'm thinking the cable broke......and I'm also thinking I the friction plates need to be replaced while I'm at it. What else while I'm in there? and....what if any special tools do I need?