Need help please

More
26 Aug 2013 12:05 #603129 by Schmeck
Need help please was created by Schmeck
So I rode my bike around this morning and then went ahead and check my spark plugs to see how they looked and guess what I did . Stripped the spark plug hole on one side . just my luck I guess. Well considering my engine was hot and I was gentle pulling them , What are the chances of metal being in the chamber . I slowly turned the motor over and it is not hanging up but they doesnt really prove anything to me . As a welder I know the metal is more likely to chip when cold rather than hot . I want to put a helicoil in the hole but I dont want it to blowup while Im riding . Any help is great appreciated - Tyler

1979 kz750 twin -Soon to be roadworthy
1988 El250 engine in custom hard tail frame - collecting dust

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
26 Aug 2013 23:20 #603245 by MDawnz1
Replied by MDawnz1 on topic Need help please
Its not that bad.
Turn the engine over by hand until the ex. valve is open.
Hit that cyl. with a shot of air and everything blows into the pipe.
In a pinch use a canister vacuum with the hoses switched so it blows.
When using the threading tool from the kit, dip in wheel bearing grease and the chips stick to it.

Good luck.

Mike

1974 Z1a, still 903

More
26 Aug 2013 23:45 #603252 by Schmeck
Replied by Schmeck on topic Need help please
This bike has been hitting me with every shot from day one. I will try ur method only because tearing into my bike's head is not on my list of things I am good at. Thanks

More
27 Aug 2013 00:24 #603265 by MDawnz1
Replied by MDawnz1 on topic Need help please
Well for goodness sakes, If you don't think you can do it right, then have someone who can do it.

A stripped plug hole is not that big a deal.
BUT A SCREWED UP REPAIR CAN BE.

Think twice.Paying a pro to do it might be the best money you ever spent.

1974 Z1a, still 903

More
27 Aug 2013 07:10 #603297 by Schmeck