Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC:

mono shock under the bike 02 Mar 2006 12:55 #27600

• high toned son of a bitch
  • high toned son of a bitch's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
hello,
I would like to convert my ST1000 to a monoshock sometime in the future. I am kind of redoing it this spring for riding this summer. I am a certified welder, and also have a plasma cutter to make brackets.
I have seen bikes with the rear shock mounted parallel to the ground, but I cannot remember what kind of bikes they were. I really like this look, I don't like the dual rear shocks.

Has anyone done this? If not, has anyone converted to a regular style monoshock on a shaft drive?

Thanks,
Mike

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

mono shock under the bike 02 Mar 2006 14:06 #27611

• wireman
  • Visitor
maybe a buell,i think theyre mounted something like that:whistle: goodluck,happy wrenching!

mono shock under the bike 02 Mar 2006 15:56 #27637

• twowheeledterror
  • Visitor
Be sure you get a shock made to me mounted that way, otherwise you are in for a bad ride. :(

mono shock under the bike 02 Mar 2006 16:15 #27643

• 77KZ650
  • User
  • Thank you received: 7
TWT, are just the oil filled shocks affected by being sideways? maybe he would be ok going with a gas shock? ...just a thought...:unsure:
07 MDP Rookie of the Year
01 ZX-12R street/drag bike. 8.97 @155.7 pump gas, dot tires, no bars, no power adders. top speed in the 1/4: 161MPH

mono shock under the bike 02 Mar 2006 17:35 #27657

• twowheeledterror
  • Visitor
77KZ650 wrote:

TWT, are just the oil filled shocks affected by being sideways? maybe he would be ok going with a gas shock? ...just a thought...:unsure:

No, the problem is that the shocks are not all made to take flex and force at those angles like the paralell shocks are.