1978 Kawasaki Z1R front master cylinder disassembl

• michaelcress
  • Topic Author
  • User
More
03 Jun 2017 03:31 - 03 Jun 2017 04:08 #763390 by michaelcress
Hello,

I have a master cylinder with a frozen piston and I need some guidance on how to disassemble it. According to bikebandit.com schematics, there is a plastic liner in front of a piston seal and stoper ( www.bikebandit.com/oem-parts/1978-kawasa.../o/m150627#sch550240 ). I am unsure of how to remove this plastic liner. It appears there is a channel that runs behind the plastic liner; is there a tool or technique that is used for the removal of this part? I have been very nervous about messing with it as it appears that spares for this part no longer exist in the inventory.

Thank you.
Attachments:
Last edit: 03 Jun 2017 04:08 by michaelcress.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
03 Jun 2017 09:13 - 03 Jun 2017 09:13 #763409 by martin_csr
The piston liner (#13) has a couple of tabs that need to be depressed. Your mc doesn't appear to have holes for the tabs. It looks like you'll have to pry at the grooves. Mine has rectangular holes where you use a thin blade screwdriver to depress the tabs.

1000D - Z1R --- 14008-1007
Last edit: 03 Jun 2017 09:13 by martin_csr.

More
03 Jun 2017 17:50 #763452 by ezrider714
The several that I have worked on were exactly as described by Martin
I don't think this is a stock OEM M/C the 5/8 being my clue, back in 78 almost all labeling
like such was in the metric system
Lack of the clips to hold in the liner may have been the way around patent/payment or whatever issue
There doesn't appear to be anyway other than what Martin described, at least till some of it is exposed above the bore
Good Luck

EZ

78 KZ650SR Mine since 79
4-1 Mac Jet Hot coated since mid 80's
Dyna Coils
Saddlebags (I ain't skeered of going nowhere) :)

More
03 Jun 2017 17:54 - 03 Jun 2017 17:56 #763453 by martin_csr