Replacing Antique Electroics...

More
16 Aug 2016 11:56 - 16 Aug 2016 11:57 #738893 by Atlamillias
Replacing Antique Electroics... was created by Atlamillias
Hello! I'm still really new to bikes, and am trying to replace stuff on my 1982 KZ750 CSR. Figured it would be the best way to learn about stuff. Anyways, the wiring harness was badly damaged by acid corrosion by the previous owner. Since this bike is over 30 years old, I'm not too trusting on some of the electrical equipment, such as the stator, regulator - rectifier, and coil. Replacing these now would entice me to learn about them, and help me diagnose any issues later.

The problem is though ; i have no idea where I would purchase such things. Yeah, there's ebay if i wanted cheap Chinese or (used) OEM replacements, but is there specific sites or marketplaces anyone would recommend for aftermarket-stock stuff?

P. S. Where specifically do i connect the hotwire from the regulator-rectifier to the battery? Directly to the terminal? Before/after the main fuse? Only problem i had wiring this thing...

P. S. S. Mispelled "Electronics" in title. Fml...
Last edit: 16 Aug 2016 11:57 by Atlamillias.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
16 Aug 2016 12:34 #738901 by 650ed
Replied by 650ed on topic Replacing Antique Electroics...
I would not spend the money on replacing parts than may be perfectly fine. Your bike is 5 years newer than mine, and the only electrical part that has failed on mine was the original rectifier. My bike has 60,000 miles on it.