Poor spark and spark between contact breakers.

More
13 Mar 2016 12:34 #715231 by Svendsen
I have restored a kawasaki z650 and i simply cant get it to start! I am a mechanical and technical engineer but this is starting go get me frustrated!
The engine have been completly rebuild all tolerances are met and there should be no problem starting it.

Info:
It is the first z650 from 77 which need a batteri for the non permanent magnet in the rotor at the generator.
The wirering harness on the bike is from a new model with a permanent magnet generator. But i dont think this have anything to do with why it can not start?

My problem is
1. On the ignition there is a spark between the contack breakers
2. The spark on the plug is not continuous

I thought if was the condensators so i tried to measure them out. But they both seem to be okay with the value 0,252uF

Have anyone had this problem?

Z650/ gsxr600 Cafézaki

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• z1kzonly
  • User
  • Sustaining Member
More
13 Mar 2016 12:46 #715233 by z1kzonly
Replied by z1kzonly on topic Poor spark and spark between contact breakers.
Could the advancer unit be 180 degrees off?
Is there cylinder compression?
Any popping or backfiring?

Livin in "CheektaVegas, NY
Went thru 25 of these in 40 yrs.
I SOLD OUT! THE KAW BARN IS EMPTY.
More room for The Old Girl, Harley 75 FLH Electra Glide,
Old faithful! Points ign. Bendix Orig. carb.
Starts everytime!

More
13 Mar 2016 12:54 #715235 by loudhvx
As z1kzonly says, the advancer can be 180 out if you took it apart to clean etc.

Also, you should be aware, the coils spark two plugs at a time, so in order to see spark you have to make sure both plug wires from the coil have a path to the engine.

More
13 Mar 2016 13:20 #715237 by Svendsen
Replied by Svendsen on topic Poor spark and spark between contact breakers.
The engine has gone through total renovation and everything is "very clean"