New Owner! Sad Tale. - Ignition

More
26 Aug 2011 14:51 - 26 Aug 2011 14:53 #471954 by rickdeaconx
New Owner! Sad Tale. - Ignition was created by rickdeaconx
Hey All!
I'm a newb here. A newb to everything! New rider, new bike owner, new forum register.
Anyhow, I picked up a 76 KZ400 that ran like a champ. Well, after I changed the coil. Initially it ran pretty badly, troubleshot determined it was the coil. After that, no problems at all besides a minor misfire when gassing it 100% throttle at too low of an RPM(my fault).

The other day, Ohio, where I live, had a massive rain storm. Lots of heavy wind and rain, pretty intense. Set off a bunch of tornadoes and such. Anyhow, my bike was caught in it. It was not on, ignition was not running or anything of that nature, but it sat outside uncovered(didn't make it back in time.)

So I went to go start it last night (one day later, almost a full 24 hours of dry weather, but humid), and it wouldn't fire. It cranks no problem, the lights come on, it has lots of gas, there is no room for water in the tank(just filled to the top) and it turns over, but does not start. Hooked the battery to a charger, also tried kick-starting, no start. I tested the resistance at the coil(brand new Dyna Coil), and it looks okay. Test the resistance between the blue and orange wires that run to the coil, they have resistance(complete circuit?). The plugs and wires are new. Last night I put dialectric grease all over the plugs, plug caps, the coil output plugs, and all that, in hope it was a lose/wet connection, but to no avail. Sprayed most of the electrical circuits with wd-40 and wiped them clean.

The only thing I know I don't have: Spark. I pulled the plugs, held it against metal(I know, I know) and also visually watched the plug not spark when cranking. So I have fuel, air, but no spark. What could have gone wrong in the major rain storm?