Backfire/Clicking

• VintageKz@63
  • Topic Author
  • User
More
08 Oct 2024 15:26 #904959 by VintageKz@63
Backfire/Clicking was created by VintageKz@63
  Hi Folks 
I want to introduce myself to everyone my name is Bryon from Ohio I’m a US Army Vet new here.
My love for KZ went back in my childhood when my brother Claude had a 1976 kz900 when he took me on a ride and hit speed of 126 mph and the bike was riding like it  was going 55 mph so much stability I was hooked. So here’s my dilemma on a 1982 kz1100a2 I bought on EBay I’ll attach a video showing the problem. Thanks 
Attachments:

IMG_4863.mov

IMG_4863.mov

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
09 Oct 2024 09:31 - 09 Oct 2024 09:32 #904970 by Injected
Replied by Injected on topic Backfire/Clicking
Was the engine fully warm when you recorded the video? (just after a ride)

Sounds like it could be cam chain related? Maybe a broken or cracked chain guide??
I hear a faint exhaust backfire but not sure if the engine was cold or not.
Last edit: 09 Oct 2024 09:32 by Injected. Reason: info

• VintageKz@63
  • Topic Author
  • User
More
09 Oct 2024 11:04 #904973 by VintageKz@63
Replied by VintageKz@63 on topic Backfire/Clicking
Thank you Injected for replying. So I started the bike for about 3:30 minutes and I couldn’t get it to click.
Waited about 1 to 2 minutes and started it and then it started to click. I first thought it was a jump from the coil or spark plugs cables but changed the cables from a parts bike that I have but it still clicked also changed  spark plugs they’re new. I had a buddy come over and he thought it was coming from the carbs took fuel tank off and the atmospheric nipples on front top of each carb is as follows. #1 carb is tied into #4 carb with a fuel line which I’m told it shouldn’t be # 3 is open #2 is tied into the fuel tank. There is a slight exhaust leak I tried tightening some were a little loose.