Carb boots leak repair

More
15 Jul 2016 14:28 #735064 by Dwoolley
Carb boots leak repair was created by Dwoolley
I just got an 1982 kawasaki kz440 ltd. I'm pretty new to bikes and I'm on a bit of a budget. I know I have a air leak in the carb boots on the intake side. I've looked up the cost of new boots and it's pretty pricey. I'm wondering what you guys think of the idea of putting a small layer of JB Weld over my carb boots to seal the leak. I know it's probably not as good as replacing them, but do you guys think it will fix the leak until I can get new boots?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
15 Jul 2016 15:13 #735066 by KZB2 650
Replied by KZB2 650 on topic Carb boots leak repair
Some have tried silicone but it never lasts and have never read anyone recommending anything but replacement for other than a very temp fix.

1978 KZ650 b-2
700cc Wiseco kit 10 to 1.
1980 KZ750 cam, ape springs, stock clutch/ Barnett springs.
Vance and Hines Header w/ comp baffle and Ape pods, Dyna S and green coils, copper wires.
29MM smooth bores W/ 17.5 pilots, 0-6s and 117.5 main
16/42 gearing X ring chain and alum rear JT sprocket.

• ThatGPzGuy
  • Sustaining Member
  • More Sparky than Speed Racer
More
15 Jul 2016 15:14 #735067 by ThatGPzGuy
Replied by ThatGPzGuy on topic Carb boots leak repair
If you can get the OEM air boots... do it. You don't know how much longer they will be available.

Jim
North GA
2016 Yamaha FJR1300ES
1982 GPz750 R1
1974 Kawasaki H1
1976 Kawasaki KZ400
1979 Yamaha XS650 cafe'
2001 KZ1000P
2001 Yamaha YZ426
1981 Honda XR200 stroked in an '89 CR125 chassis
1965 Mustang
1967 Triumph GT6
1976 Bronco
"If you didn't build it, it's not really yours"

More
15 Jul 2016 15:37 #735069 by wrenchmonkey
Replied by wrenchmonkey on topic Carb boots leak repair
As you are looking for a temporary fix only until you can gather the cash to replace them, there's a couple of things you can try.