1982 KZ750 Spectre won't hold speed/cruise

• BooksnBeans5631
  • Topic Author
  • User
More
17 May 2016 21:57 #727112 by BooksnBeans5631
1982 KZ750 Spectre won't hold speed/cruise was created by BooksnBeans5631
Hello! This is my first post, and I'm pretty new to technical forums as well, so sorry in advance for any ridiculous errors I make.

Ok here's the story with the bike, a 1982 KZ750 Spectre/N1. I bought it about 2 months ago as a project bike, PO said it runs and drives, so I drove 100 miles to get the bike and drove the bike 100 miles back to my house. Bike was dropped on the right side and the right side muffler leaks. I think the bike has around 10,500-11,000 miles, not going to go into that, the PO replaced the original tach(which might have broken when it was dropped, no idea). The bike has some K&N pods, still had stock exhaust, and later on, I found out it had stock jetting. Anyway, about 3 days after I bought it, I took her out to go to work and show her off to some work buddies. On the way back, she would not rev over 4,000-4,500. I think this was caused due to the carbs slipping out of the intake manifold boots(when I went to take off the carbs they were pretty loose). The next day after that, I began the process of the build. I'm not going to go into all the cosmetic stuff, just give a list of what I did so far that might affect how the bike runs.

-Rebuilt Fuel Petcock