1977 KZ400-A1 (DELUXE A)

More
26 Jan 2016 03:48 #708159 by mayhem17
1977 KZ400-A1 (DELUXE A) was created by mayhem17
So I'm fairly new to working on any dual carb setup, but not new to carbs. I'm working on this bike that belongs to a buddy of mine, had been sitting for years, but ran when parked. Wanted me to clean carbs / do a tune up.

Got carbs apart and they were awful. Tank had rusted pretty bad, and all that rust went down in he carbs. I was able to get them cleaned though, and did not use a rebuilt kit at that time.

Got her fired up, and runs fine, until it drops down around 3000-3500 rpms or so, then falls on its face and dies, unless the choke is on. If I hold the choke lever down, I can set the idle down to around 1200-1500 with no problem, and will idle great.

I've set the valve clearance, cleaned and set the points, new spark plugs, and with every thing I did, it did run better at the higher rpms but had the same issue on the bottom end. I then found that one of the carb holder boots was sucking air, and temporarily sealed the outside with some silicone until my new ones come in. I'm no longer sucking in air, but still has the same issue. I also notice a lag when trying to rev the bike up without the choke on.

So I pulled the carbs apart again last night, and blew through everything with air, and ensured that no rust had gotten back into the carbs, which it hadn't. I'm looking for a good carb rebuild kit to hopefully resolve this issue, but not having much luck, so I'm needing 2 things.

1: some good links to some carb rebuild kits for this bike.

2: Maybe some other ideas on what may be causing this if not the carbs.

Thanks for any help, and sorry for the long ass post, but wanted to be as specific as possible. lol

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
26 Jan 2016 04:09 #708163 by jdvorchak
Replied by jdvorchak on topic 1977 KZ400-A1 (DELUXE A)