EFI to Carb conversion

More
19 Jul 2015 18:23 #681689 by aphex
EFI to Carb conversion was created by aphex
I've been looking through the old posts on the forum for some answers but so far no dice. Hoping someone can help...

I've got a 1980 kz1000 g1 Classic, the American fuel injected model from 1980. Converting her to Mikuni VM28 carbs (without the accelerator pump). I'm new to fuel injection and new to these carbs. I don't have the carbs on hand yet and I'm waiting for a manual to arrive in the mail. A couple questions...

Do I need to run these carbs without the fuel pump and fuel pressure regulator, or do they need to stay in the fuel circuit somehow? I'm thinking of just letting the carbs run on a gravity feed and plugging the fuel return line to the gas tank, but not sure if this is correct.

Also, there are what appear to be vacuum lines running from the fuel injector holder to an "air flow valve" then to the front camshaft covers, as well as a larger line which runs from the air filter can. What are these for? I'll be running pods and doing away with the airbox and air filter can...want to make sure these vacuum lines aren't essential with a carb setup.

Aphex

1980 KZ1000 G1 Classic
1982 Yamaha XZ550, decommissioned

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Tyrell Corp
  • User
  • "You were made as well as we could make you"
More
20 Jul 2015 04:23 #681749 by Tyrell Corp
Replied by Tyrell Corp on topic EFI to Carb conversion
On the GPz1100 it is quite a common modification, I think all you need is a fuel tap -that might be in the wrong place for carbs. There are tap/carb clearance issues with some GPz tanks. I guess the vacuum lines could be used for a vacuum opertated fuel tap or blanked off.

1980 Gpz550 D1, 1981 GPz550 D1. 1982 GPz750R1. 1983 z1000R R2. all four aces

More
20 Jul 2015 07:40 - 20 Jul 2015 07:46 #681777 by undiablo
Replied by undiablo on topic EFI to Carb conversion