Problem with Carbs and reving

More
28 May 2015 09:46 #674185 by Slyde77
Problem with Carbs and reving was created by Slyde77
First wanna say hello and I'm new to the Kz world.....I just pick up a 77 kz1000 A1, I fell in love with this bike when I was like 4 years old watching the Mad max movies... I'm 38 now lol :) Anyway I pick the bike up a couple of weeks ago,

Ok so I replace the carb boots and clean the carbs, I'm guessing the bike really wasn't running for at least a year due to bad carb boots and dirty carbs. Anyway I did this and it fired right up, now the problem I'm having is when I rev it sometimes it stays up around 3000 rpms or comes down real slow back to idle. Sometimes the idle is all over the place....and one time I was riding it around the farm just to get everything flowing and I put it on the kick stand and leaned it over and it started to rev like crazy.....that hasn't happen again so idk if that was something because I just reinstalled the carbs.... Now the throttle cable is a little stiff but I got it to snap back now, but im still having the same problem. I have a new throttle cables and clutch cable due to the fact the ones on the bike are old and stiff just need to put them on. Now I did try spraying the carb cleaner on the boots and there are no leaks there, no changed when I sprayed them. I messed with the fuel mixture and that didn't change anything. I mean the revs come down but super slow, that sh*t isnt right hahahaha

So that being said i'm a little lost, should I change the throttle cable maybe that's the problem ??
Do I need to have the carbs rebuilt??? If so anyone have some place I can send them or buy a rebuilt set???
what could be making the the bikes revs get caught up like that...any help would be great. I hate to bring it some where because of something silly lol I just wanna get out and ride this thing :)

Thank you all for your time :)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More