'80 KZ750 LTD Leak!!!!! I need help please!!!

• xLowEndx
  • Topic Author
  • User
  • Slappa da bass
More
18 May 2010 07:58 #368727 by xLowEndx
Hi everyone,

This is my first post on this forum and this bike is my first motorcycle ever! I bought this bike and it starts up fine and runs but I do know I will need to change the oil immediately before I ride it anymore.

My biggest concern now is that I have a leak that smells like gasoline but is a little thicker and more oily. It is dripping from a small valve that faces the rear of the bike that comes down right in between the carbs. It's not too bad but I've had the bike for 4 days now and it hasn't stopped.

I'm not sure what this "valve" is but it does turn in place but doesn't seem to close.

Should there be a hose coming from it?

What is this leak?

(this is an inline 4 btw)

(I'm not a complete novice but my motorcycle mechanics consist of being able to point out the basic parts of a bike and understanding ehat they do, just not how they do it)

1980 Kawasaki KZ750-H1 LTD

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
18 May 2010 09:18 - 20 Feb 2013 20:14 #368739 by H1Vindicator
Replied by H1Vindicator on topic ----

Last edit: 20 Feb 2013 20:14 by H1Vindicator.

More
18 May 2010 09:34 #368741 by apbling
Replied by apbling on topic '80 KZ750 LTD Leak!!!!! I need help please!!!
Hi, I have the same bike as you, but cannot picture a valve between the carbs... Could you maybe post a picture?

• xLowEndx
  • Topic Author
  • User
  • Slappa da bass
More
18 May 2010 09:57 #368748 by xLowEndx
Replied by xLowEndx on topic '80 KZ750 LTD Leak!!!!! I need help please!!!
You are correct, it looks like it is coming out just below and in between carbs 2 and 3. I can't get pics up for another 8 hours cuz I'm at work and I think in most forums you may have to have a min. amount of post before you can post a pic.