new guy with 76 kz900 and some questions

More
16 Aug 2007 18:33 #164332 by tsm3rdz
Hello all-

Figured I could kill two birds with one stone and introduce myself and ask some questions at the same time. My name is Ben and I just got my first Kaw. I'm from Ft. Wayne, IN. I've been riding for about 12 years now. Now for the questions-

1. Carbs are pretty messed up and I am planning on rebuilding them. I found the kits on z1 ent., don't know if that is the best place to buy them or not?

2.There is a 4 into 1 system and pods this bike, but I pulled the carbs apart and I've got 120 mains and 17.5 pilots in it. From reading on here it sounds like I need maybe a 20 pilot and a 125 main?

3.On sudco's site they list a small and a large slotted jet for the vm28. I know from reading on here that I have vm26's I think. But they say on there site that my bike takes these main jets and the jet description says for vm 28's. Anyhow they look like mine except I can't tell from there picture if I have the big or small one's. If it helps the stock jets in my bike are plastic.

4. Do you guys have any preference between a clymer's or a haynes's manual? I would prefer the more technical of the two.

I think thats all for now, I appreciate yall taking the time to read and (hopefully) answer some of my questions. This thing is kind of a basket case, I'm sure you've all been there:)

Thanks in advance for all your help,
Ben

76 kz 900 streetfighter - monoshocked, newer forks, etc.
My build thread:
www.kzrider.com/forum/11-projects/221000...streetfighter-i-hope

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• mark1122
  • User
  • Keep twisting it
More
16 Aug 2007 18:48 #164337 by mark1122
Replied by mark1122 on topic new guy with 76 kz900 and some questions