Funny squawk noise when hitting starter

• Nessism
  • Topic Author
  • Away
  • Sustaining Member
More
14 Jan 2016 04:38 #706670 by Nessism
My recently rebuilt 750E makes a funny squawk noise when first engaging the starter in the morning. It almost sounds like a bearing is dry. After starting the bike and running a while the noise goes away until the next cold start.

During the rebuild I replaced the rollers/springs in the starter clutch. The bike only has 11k miles on it in the first place and I didn't see any abnormal wear in the clutch.

My thinking is to bust down the starter motor and make sure everything inside looks as it should. I'm wondering about the starter clutch though. I've heard starter clutches before that wouldn't engage, where the starter motor just spins and the engine doesn't. But is there a condition on these bikes where the clutch could emit this squawk/groan noise due to some level of slippage? Hope not but I'm not very experienced with this engine so hoping someone can share their experiences.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 Jan 2016 06:32 #706690 by JR
650Ed described a bad starter clutch as making an "oogah horn" sound and that pretty much is the sound I hear at times on a cold start and just after the motor fires and starts. 1980 750 E1. Its quite loud. A squawk would also be a good description. I had assumed it's the starter clutch but as its been doing this for the past 12 years I don't worry to much. I intend to run it this way as long as possible before I do anything. I might take out the starter motor and give it a service this spring just in case. Certainly a lot easier than tackling the starter clutch.

My bike has over 75,000 km on it. Hard to think you could have starter clutch issue at 11,000 miles and on a rebuilt motor.

1980 kz750E1, Delkevic exhaust
The following user(s) said Thank You: Nessism, undiablo

• SWest
  • Sustaining Member
  • 10 22 2014
More