Help, I stripped oil filter housings

• Jtat1218
  • Topic Author
  • User
More
13 Nov 2015 07:47 #698477 by Jtat1218
Help, I stripped oil filter housings was created by Jtat1218
I overtightened the oil filter bolt on 1983 KZ 440 ltd belt drive and stripped the internal threads, how can I fix this I'm a novice

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
13 Nov 2015 08:26 #698480 by pete greek1
Replied by pete greek1 on topic Help, I stripped oil filter housings
A Time sert, & before you do any more work on the bike, you have to get a Kawasaki service/workshop manual & check the torque spec's & torque with a torque wrench for whatever nuts & bolts you tighten, & don't even think about removing any screws with a Phillips Screwdriver , they're not Phillips & will easily strip, you have to get a set of JIS ( Japanese Industrial Standard ) screwdrivers or bits, & if you've never installed a Time Sert I would take it to a shop to do it, because the last thing you want , is to have it not properly installed set holding your oil filter on, the oil can drip right under your rear wheel which could be deadly
Pete

1980 LTD 1000..,1976 LTD 900, have the 1000&900 now. the rest are previous= 1978 KZ 650 B.., 1980 Yamaha XT 500..,1978 Yamaha DT 400.., 1977 Yamaha yz 80..,Honda trail ct 70.., Honda QA 50...5-1/2 hp brigs & straton CAT chopper mini bike...3-1/2 hp mini bike (WHEN GAS WAS ABOUT 45 CENTS A GALLON)!!!!

More
13 Nov 2015 08:46 #698487 by MDZ1rider
Replied by MDZ1rider on topic Help, I stripped oil filter housings
The right answer is to remove the engine, possibly even split the cases, and take it to a competent machine shop who will install a timesert/helicoil.
There's going to be a lot of posters who are going to say never do what I'm about to tell you, It is definitely not the right way to fix it. However, I'm guessing you're on a budget and the above solution may be beyond what you willing to spend on the bike.