Any mechanics in AK looking for a winter rebuild?

More
13 Oct 2015 10:50 #694435 by SaraGraz
I have a 1978 KZ650. It used to run, then peetered out. I was refused by the Motorcylcle shop because of the age of the bike. I'm not a mechanic, but have had several things done to try to get it running consistently. The final answer from the folks that haven't been able to help is that it needs a new engine or to rebuild one (apparently no service or tuneups have been done on it?). I bought it 2008, it's been off the road since 2012.

I'm bummed and hate to make it scrap metal. Any reasonable help out there? Out here, that is, in ALASKA?
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
13 Oct 2015 11:33 #694447 by GPzMOD750
There's gotta be someone up there that can help you. It could be as simple as a valve adjustment and carb clean/balance.
The following user(s) said Thank You: SaraGraz

More
13 Oct 2015 11:44 #694449 by 650ed
It seems unlikely that it needs to be rebuilt. One member has a KZ650 that still runs with 160,000 miles on it. Mine only has about 60,000 miles and it still runs great.

Why not buy a manual and perform a full tune-up yourself? Your bike may just need points, plugs, carb cleaning, and/or some other fairly simple routine maintenance performed. The manual and normal maintenance stuff will cost less than having a mechanic touch it. KZ650 engines are extremely reliable, so you should be able to get it running well. I see it has the stock airbox, so that's a big plus toward an easy tune-up. Scrapping it should not even be an option. Ed

1977 KZ650-C1 Original Owner - Stock (with additional invisible FIAMM horn)

More
13 Oct 2015 11:48 #694450 by DobbinsCMA