'80 KZ750 RPM Issues!!

• CreightonDeHart
  • Topic Author
  • User
More
23 Sep 2015 06:59 #691500 by CreightonDeHart
'80 KZ750 RPM Issues!! was created by CreightonDeHart
Hello I'm new to the KZ world and just purchased a 1980 KZ750H. The bike has 23k miles and is in pretty great condition. I had some issues with the carburetor but it was fixed professionally and has been working great since. I've been riding the last two days with no problems really besides my bike would shut off when downshifting at stops and it wouldn't idle without me holding the throttle open a little bit. I looked in to some stuff to adjusting my idle and when i went to adjust the idle screw between carbs 2 and 3 I got my bike to idle at around 1500 RPM's and thought i had fixed my problem. As I took off down the road i got around 3500 RPM's and they just took off towards 6000 RPM's and I couldn't stop it without pressing the kill switch. I had tried to re adjust the idle screw back and turned on my bike letting it idle in neutral. Then i go to rev it to test what would happen and it took off again!! Just kept revving. I'm almost positive that it's just a problem that i created with the idle screw because it was running perfectly before then but I just want to get some outside thoughts. Anything helps you guys, I really appreciate it!! Thanks.
Creighton

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
23 Sep 2015 07:06 #691502 by Grnole
Replied by Grnole on topic '80 KZ750 RPM Issues!!
sounds like it could be a few things related to tuning, but def check out your push/pull cables first. and throttle snap spring. Your throttle could be snapping back, but it still engaging.

M

1980 KZ1000 LTD -B4
1984 Yamaha FJ1100
1972 Honda CL350 (sold)
The following user(s) said Thank You: CreightonDeHart

• CreightonDeHart
  • Topic Author
  • User
More
23 Sep 2015 07:20 #691505 by CreightonDeHart
Replied by CreightonDeHart on topic '80 KZ750 RPM Issues!!