• Page:

TOPIC:

1980 Kawasaki KZ1000 LTD only 2 cylinders running 25 Jan 2014 18:10 #620034

• 80kz1000ltd
  • 80kz1000ltd's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
Hey everyone,

I'm brand new to this website, didnt even know it existed! anyways i have a 1980 KZ LTD 1000 and my dad bought her new back in 1980, and the thing only has 19000 km on it looks brand new, but she is only running on 1 or 2 cylinders and has no power like it did on all 4. Now im not a mechanic, i dont work on cars, or motorcycles, i only work on airplanes and i know nothing about these bikes. Can anyone help me? i just need to know what the problem is and how to fix it to run on all 4 so i can start riding her soon.

Thanks
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1980 Kawasaki KZ1000 LTD only 2 cylinders running 25 Jan 2014 18:36 #620036

• KZ1979LTD
  • User
  • Thank you received: 2
Much more savvy mechanic types will chime in soon I'd say. Till they show up youre stuck with me. I have a '79 LTD. Check to make sure you are getting spark to each cylinder. Do the sparkplug ground against the head to see if you are getting spark. Maybe you have a bad coil. Try that first. More knowledgeable help will show up soon. Welcome to the site. Tom (sharp bike by the way. Looks almost as good as a'79) ;)
The following user(s) said Thank You: 80kz1000ltd

Last edit: by KZ1979LTD.

1980 Kawasaki KZ1000 LTD only 2 cylinders running 25 Jan 2014 18:41 #620037

• 4TheKZ1000
  • Visitor
Hello, and welcome to the forum. Very nice stock bike you have. We would be glad to help you.

If the bike runs, check and see which pipe gets hot....you can spray water on them with a spray bottle. That way you can tell the non firing cylinders.

If you have a spark tester, you can check that way.

Is the battery 100% charged?

Your bike has two coils. The coils both have two plug wires coming out of them, hence 4 cylinders.