Jammed Pistons

More
28 Apr 2013 00:40 #584367 by nivlac
Jammed Pistons was created by nivlac
Trying to install my cylinders for the forth time in my KZ1100. Nothing is going right. After lowering my cylinders past my # 2 & 3 pistons my lowest oil ring on the # 1 piston came out of the groove and bent (second time). So in getting ready to start over (had an extra scraper ring), I started lifting the cylinders off the pistons and it came off the # 1&4, but as I continued raising the cylinders I found that some how the 2&3 pistons aren't moving inside the cylinders. I did "tap" the cylinder with a dead blow while installing. I've been messing with it for the last 2 hrs trying to get it to move. After chipping a piece of fin off I thought I'd stop for the night a get some feed back. Any ideas?

1983 kz1100
1979 cb650

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
28 Apr 2013 02:57 #584389 by jonarmstrong
Replied by jonarmstrong on topic Jammed Pistons
Lichen! Hate you chipped a fin!! Are you using plenty of oil?

82 Kz1000 gpz1100 cams dyna ignition kerker k&n
The following user(s) said Thank You: nivlac

More
28 Apr 2013 08:38 #584406 by 650ed
Replied by 650ed on topic Jammed Pistons
Chipped a fin trying to install pistons? :S You should not need to use a hammer to install pistons, clearly something is not right. Ed

1977 KZ650-C1 Original Owner - Stock (with additional invisible FIAMM horn)

More
28 Apr 2013 09:50 - 28 Apr 2013 09:52 #584410 by turboking
Replied by turboking on topic Jammed Pistons
more info needed.
did you gap the rings? Old /new pistons/ new bore job....... :dry:

:( IMO it sounds like you forced it and laid over another one of the oil ring wipers, since you were having problems getting the cylinder on :unsure: .

you need to remove the cylinder and inspect the rings/cylinders/pistons at the very least , to be sure......... :huh: and if any of the oil ring wiper bent it needs to be replaced :dry: