De-glazing cylinder walls

More
27 Jun 2006 15:38 #57585 by Jim65
De-glazing cylinder walls was created by Jim65
Pulled the cylinder head, and its in the shop for valve seat refacing. Interesting, all the exhaust valves were becoming more or less "tuliped", while the intake valves and seats looked good. I ended up pulling the cylinders and pistons. I glass beaded the pistons to decarbonize and am ready to deglaze the cylinder walls. I was wondering what deglazing tool you'all would recommend as I have zero experience in this area. I was looking at the "flex hone" and thought someone would have an opinion about it. And yes, I am putting in new rings. Thanks

1981 KZ750E2, 28000 miles

Post edited by: Jim65, at: 2006/06/27 18:40

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
27 Jun 2006 17:11 #57599 by steell
Replied by steell on topic De-glazing cylinder walls
Have you measured the bores to ensure they are still within specs?

Seems like lots of peole use the ball hones for deglazing.

Post edited by: steell, at: 2006/06/27 20:13

KD9JUR

• wireman
  • Visitor
27 Jun 2006 20:11 #57634 by wireman
Replied by wireman on topic De-glazing cylinder walls
well its a little too late now,but dont glassbead skirts of pistons.you can glassbead the crowns with no problem but when you glassbead the skirts the glassbeads actually get driven into the aluminum and will do terrible things to your cylinder walls.:S the reason your exhuast valves look more beat up is because they are constantly being heated in combustion chamber and by hot exhuast gases flowing over them.intake valves are cooled by incoming air/fuel.;)

More
28 Jun 2006 12:06 #57786 by Jim65
Replied by Jim65 on topic De-glazing cylinder walls