Anyone Do Metal Casting On Here?

More
30 Jan 2016 18:04 - 30 Jan 2016 18:06 #708652 by NakedFun
Anyone Do Metal Casting On Here? was created by NakedFun
So looking to do some custom tank emblems for the KZ project bike. I want to combine this:

[IMG

With the stockers...

[IMG

I know how the casting process works, but I have never done it before. The only other option would be to CNC it....

Cory

2008 Kawasaki Concours 14
1999 Kawasaki ZRX1100
1976 Kawasaki KZ900
Last edit: 30 Jan 2016 18:06 by NakedFun.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
30 Jan 2016 21:45 #708674 by davido
Replied by davido on topic Anyone Do Metal Casting On Here?
Ive been thinking of doing something similar on my build but with plastic. I thought to make a silicone mold of the originals then cast a couple of sacrifical badges that I can cut up to make what I want (keeping the originals unharmed). Make another mold of the modified badges and there you go.
If you want a single colour,pigments can be added to the mix.If you want different colours,they can be painted .
There is a shop near me that specialize in plastics and molding media.They have tons of stuff,so I should be able to find something suitable
there.
It would be a lot easier and less smelly and messy than casting it in metal.

www.kzrider.com/forum/11-projects/594313-csr1000-project-build
CB550 (1978)
CB500/4 (1972)*
KZ1000CSR (1981)
XT 600E (1999)
TDM900 (2003)

• DoctoRot
  • Sustaining Member
  • Oh, the usual... I bowl, I drive around...
More
30 Jan 2016 22:49 - 31 Jan 2016 00:14 #708677 by DoctoRot
Replied by DoctoRot on topic Anyone Do Metal Casting On Here?