Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC:

Doctorot's '78 KZ1000 build 05 Oct 2011 04:20 #481447

• DoctoRot
  • DoctoRot's Avatar Topic Author
  • Sustaining Member
  • Oh, the usual... I bowl, I drive around...
  • Thank you received: 664
Ive been poking around this site for a while now. I recently realized it would be better for me to start a project thread than creating a new one each time a I had a question, so here goes...

just a little background on this bike. I bought it about 2 years ago, it was in alright condition, I rode it a bit and did a little bit of stuff to it cosmetically. I decided to ride it around the country after I graduated college. 17,000 miles later I realized I had abused it enough, and limped it home. The bike had bad compression, amongst a bunch of other problems. I decided to rebuild the top end, but once I got the engine out of the frame, I decided to go for a mild restoration, and thats when things started to spiral out of control...

here are a few pics of my baby on the trip.

I have very little experience with bikes, never rebuilt an engine. I want to try to do as much as possible myself.

To rationalize dumping thousands of dollars into this project I have told myself that it is a "learning experience". :whistle:

Here are the things I set out to accomplish:
build and convert to spoked wheels - DONE
Brace frame
brace swing-arm
seam delete gas tank - started
make custom tailpiece & seat - started
build a 1075 motor with all the best internals
motor mounts
cool shocks - DONE
rebuild forks w/progressive springs - DONE
clip-ons
rear-sets
clean up gauge cluster
lots of paint and powder.

Here is the state the bike is currently in. I have been slaving over that tail plug for over 2 months now, trying to get it "perfect". On one of my many bondo excursions I got too much on the bottom so it doesnt fit down on the frame anymore, but it will.