1980 kz550ltd first timer

More
26 Aug 2017 06:04 #769788 by Mustangftw
1980 kz550ltd first timer was created by Mustangftw
Just bought my first bike, a 1980 kz550 LTD from a friend of mine. It last ran back in 2014 and has sat since then.

My plans are to make it look a bit sportier and just enjoy it. Going for a cafe racer look but I know the LTD isn't the best frame to start with but I'm going to work with what I have.

I am completely new to bikes, I've only ridden one a couple times (this bike actually, back in 2014) so excuse my learning curve. This will be a winter project.

My plan (after maintenance)

Get rid of the mini apehangers and put some cafe style bars in place (clubmans?)

Possibly Rewire the bike to get rid of some stuff and clean it up a bit. No blinkers, etc

New seat and get rid of rear fender.

Rear tire?? I know LTDs have a 16"(?) rear tire and that's more cruiser than cafe racer. Can I put a taller rear tire to make it match up with the front a bit better?

Suspension? Suggestions please, don't know whether to lower, raise, etc.

My goal is to look something like the attached. It looks like he's running a taller rear tire on the stock 16" wheel? Any guess on the rear suspension setup? Are front forks/height stock?

I've also included a pic of my bike.
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
26 Aug 2017 07:47 - 26 Aug 2017 07:51 #769793 by Tyler
Replied by Tyler on topic 1980 kz550ltd first timer
Welcome and congrats on your first bike.

I once had a 440 ltd similar to your bike, bit smaller and only 2 cylinders.

I never liked the LTD handlbars, I put "Euro" style bars on and found I liked that much better. It also changed the look of the bike. It requires replacing all of the control cables woth ones the proper length.