Saving an '84 KZ700 from a garage

• jonesea
  • Topic Author
  • User
  • Time is money and I don't have either.
More
26 Jun 2016 10:02 #732893 by jonesea
Saving an '84 KZ700 from a garage was created by jonesea
Hi everyone!

New member here -- just posted in the New Member forum too, but this seemed like a better board to tell the story of how I got my KZ700 running. I started riding about a year ago on an '83 Honda CB750 Nighthawk, and bought my way into your club back in April when this little sweetie appeared on Craigslist for $400:

Attachment Message_1460312055965.jpg not found

45 minutes after he posted it online, I had the signed title in hand. The Nighthawk was a little jealous.

Things I knew before I bought her: She hadn’t driven in 10 years, and hadn’t run in 5, so she needed a new battery, new tires, and a carb clean. The front left blinker had been smashed on the wall of the PO’s garage. The rear brake fluid reservoir was empty and the pedal went to the floor without doing squat. The shifter pedal was extremely sticky and wouldn’t return to center after pressing it up or down. The clutch lever was really hard to pull… and I mean REALLY hard, not “sporty feel” hard, though that’s what the PO tried to tell me it was. The throttle took ages to return closed after opening it.

Attachment IMG_20160410_141649_edit.jpg not found

Attachment 20160410_141454_HDR_edit.jpg not found

All the work I’d done on my Honda to get it running (and then keep it running) and the one sentence I read online about it being basically the same bike as the KZ750’s that year gave me confidence. After all, she was only 6500 miles old. So I put her on a trailer, got her home, and pushed her to the back of the driveway I share with 3 other apartments (sorry guys), where she would sit for the next 1.5 months.

Attachment 20160410_162137_HDR_edit-2.jpg not found