KZ 1000 Mk II 1980

More
06 Oct 2010 14:47 #404594 by alduxvm
KZ 1000 Mk II 1980 was created by alduxvm
Hi!!!

How are you??

Im a young engineer and a super entusiast of the KZ 1000, since i was a kid i fall in love of this bike, i live in mexico, and recently (2 weeks ago) i bought a Kz 1000 mkii 1980. The history is as follows...

This machine cost me around 1800 dlls, it was a little bit pricey, but it was not demolish like the kz you use to found on mexico, hehehehe, so i decide to buy it.

The motor was working, i even take it home driving it, when i looked on the mirror, the bike was leaving a big trail of smoke, blue smoke, in some corners i could feel some instability and insecurity in the front suspension of the bike, and the engine was backfiring like crazy, in one stop i started to smell gas, so i checked the carburators and for my surprise all the engine was covered on gas, i was a little scared, i checked the petcock and it was on prime, i put it on ON and carry on, suddenly the motor started to feel very unpowerful, so i stop and the engine stopped... i check the engine, and it was leaking oil from the seals on the engine, the ones on the cylinders... the engine did not turn on again, so i had to call a tow, and by the tow i finally get home.

The last owner told me that he just recently had change the valve seals, and the cylinder rings, because there were no compresion on the cylinders, and told me that the engine was doing great.. but i experienced another thing, hehehehe

So, i started to check the engine, i check the petcock, it was ok, then i manage to turn again the engine, and the cylinders 3 and 4 are not working... the mufflers 1 and 2 are hot, 3 and 4 are cold...

i check the sparkplugs, 1 and 2 where super burned, and 3-4 where super wet... so i check the ingition system, and the spark is very weak, i have to get very close to the cable to actually see the spark...