Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC:

Changing Stock CV Carbs for VM 28 Jul 2016 11:06 #736497

• Atlamillias
  • Atlamillias's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
Hello! So, I'm still very new at bikes. I've been learning off my 1982 KZ750 CSR. I wanted to replace the airbox (because it was damaged), and because of how scarce my model bike is, could not find a replacement. So, my option was to add pod filters instead. The problem with that, is the stock carbs are Mikuni bs34 CV, which are designed to use a very steady, low turbulent air flow. I have a pair of new Mikuni VM28 Roundslide carbs; would those be an adaquite substitute? I'd probably need to swap the jets out for larger ones, but I'm okay with that. If thesr are suitable, is there anything i should take into consideration, or information I shoukd know?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Changing Stock CV Carbs for VM 28 Jul 2016 13:41 #736514

• TexasKZ
  • Platinum Member
  • Thank you received: 2067
It might be easier to fix the airbox.

Are the 28s properly spaced for your engine? Will you be able to find intake manifolds to fit? Are they set up for the same number of throttle cables? Some bikes use one, others use two (one open, one close). Is the fuel inlet on the carbs close to the same size as the fuel outlet on the tank?
1982 KZ1000 LTD parts donor
1981 KZ1000 LTD awaiting resurrection
2000 ZRX1100 not ridden enough

Changing Stock CV Carbs for VM 28 Jul 2016 15:21 #736527

• Nessism
  • Sustaining Member
  • Thank you received: 2677
Agree on fixing the airbox. If you insist on pods a Dynojet kit and some quality pods, not some dimestore Emgo junkers, would make for a good path forward.

Changing Stock CV Carbs for VM 28 Jul 2016 16:23 #736536

• Kray-Z
  • User
  • I need more power Scotty....
  • Thank you received: 107
I'm with the others - stick with a stock air box if at all possible, and avoid cheap-o pod filters always!