Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

dual discs is it worth it?? 14 Jan 2006 12:58 #17871

• fixer5000
  • fixer5000's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 5
i have a 78 kz650 b2a. im thinking id like to add the second disc and caliper on the front and im wondering from other members is it worth the trouble? also i cant find a rebuild kit for the current 1/2 inch master cylinder and i have a rebuildable 5/8 master to rebuild ( kit coming ) so this may help me make this decision. all else fails ill sell the calipers ive gathered and am going to rebuild and press on...whats a set of rebuilt calipers worth these days anyway?? and advice would help guys...thanks...steve
1978 kz650b pretty much stock
\\\\\\\" get there fast but arrive alive \\\\\\\"
massachusetts

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

dual discs is it worth it?? 14 Jan 2006 13:56 #17881

• arobsum
  • User
  • Thank you received: 10
all depends on your riding habits. a hard rider, probably would help. day to day rider with no hot-rodding like me? would'nt need it.

dual discs is it worth it?? 14 Jan 2006 15:30 #17904

• steell
  • User
  • Thank you received: 207
I upgraded the 79 and 80 750 twins from single to dual disks, and in my opinion it was well worth it. With the dual disk I make the front tire howl when I slow to turn im my driveway, and with the single disk I had to start slowing much sooner or overshoot the driveway (not a good idea since my driveway is on a State Highway).

The diadvantage is more weight on the front end.
KD9JUR

dual discs is it worth it?? 14 Jan 2006 16:25 #17909

• jarhead
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
Not worth the extra weight in my opinion. The stock single piston calipers are heavy, as are the rotors. You would be better off adapting a twin or four piston caliper from a modern bike. It's not that hard to do and the performance will be better than two stock units.