Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC:

1979 KZ400 B Restoration/Recommission 27 Sep 2022 16:39 #874706

• adam73bgt
  • adam73bgt's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 17
Hello! In case you haven't seen my new members post, I'm Adam and this is my 1979 KZ400 B that I'm restoring.

As a brief bit of background, I'm in the UK, 30 (soon to be 31) years old and an engineer/project manager by trade, originally in Automotive, now in Rail. I spend most of my time messing about with older cars, repairing/modifying them, but have always been into bikes but only really got into riding and passing my full bike license about 3-4 years ago. I've had a very nice, low mileage Suzuki GSX600F which I've just recently sold, and at the tail end of 2021 I bought my KZ400.

The reasoning behind the KZ is that the Suzuki while very nice and reliable, didn't have anything to do on it, I like something I can tinker with and is a bit different. My grandad had a BSA Thunderbolt and a Honda 400/4 a few years ago and they left a bit of an impression on me, I wasn't particularly picky about the bike I wanted to have for a project, but it had to be at the right price (discounted most BSAs these days) and ideally a twin (discounted the Honda).

The KZ turned up at an importer near me, went to have a look and ended up buying it, it's a California import and had been off the road for around 25 years or so, appeared to be mostly complete but as I've gone through it, I've found a lot needs replacing and some fairly key items are missing or are no good.

I have been posting about the build on another forum, but I'll try not to copy/paste too much. So getting stuck into the bike, clearly some bits had suffered from being sat outside

The seat base was totally rotten, and the brake master was not only stuck solid but the reservoir had gone brittle and holed

The sun bleaching on the tail piece was pretty impressive!