Beginner Painting Guide

More
15 Aug 2011 16:35 #469202 by Archiddeon
Beginner Painting Guide was created by Archiddeon
Hi all,

Before I do any paint work on my Kaw, I'm planning to practise fairing painting on an '85 Honda scooter we have.

As a complete beginner to painting in any automotive sense (have done some minor rattlecan touch-ups to the car and a few small spray gun projects), I'm looking for step-by-step instructions. Couldn't find any with the search, so here I am :P

Been searching the internet and found many sites that deal with painting, but they all differ in various aspects such as the number of coats, when to sand, what grit, etc. etc. The most informative is probably this one: www.chuckhawks.com/harley_paintin.htm

I'm thinking black with blue lettering and pinstripes, so below are some of the steps I think I know as well as a whole lot of questions, any advice, input, changes, criticism, hints tips or warnings would be awesome :)

Preparation
1) Using 600 or finer (what is best?), sand off old clear coat, rough up the paint, sand right through places where it's pealing, bubbling or otherwise lacking adhesion.
2) Fill any scratches, wait to dry and sand down the filler.
3) Wipe down with degreaser/dewaxer.
4) Wipe off with soft, clean rag.

Primer
1) Light or dark?
2) How many coats?
3) Sand between coats? Sand after the last coat and before colour? What grit and how intensely?
4) How long to dry before color?

Color
1) Many light coats is better than fewer thick coats. Aim for 3 - 4 coats, waiting 30 - 40 mins between coats?
2) If pinstriping or lettering, give full paint with the strip colour (i.e. 3-4 coats), mask off, then full again with the top colour? So in my case, paint the entire thing blue, stripe and letters masked off, then paint it all black?