Sanding and primer

More
23 Jul 2010 07:15 #384870 by hotrodpuch
Sanding and primer was created by hotrodpuch
I just got my tank dipped and sealed at a radiator shop, so of course it stripped the paint off and it flash rusted. Now i need prep and primer it before the rust sets in. So I guess I need to sand or use steel wool to get the current rust off and for the primer to grip to.I have never done any of this before and I don't want to mess it up. What are the steps to doing this and also are there any suggested spray primer I should use. Any other tips would be appreciated it. I won't be getting it painted for a month or two yet. Thanks!

1981 KZ750 LTD

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
23 Jul 2010 08:32 #384904 by Mark Wing
Replied by Mark Wing on topic Sanding and primer
Sand the rust off with 150 grit then you'll need an metal etching prim then primer filler.

Mark

Jesus loves you Everyone else thinks your an ***

77 KZ650 C1 with ZX7 forks, GPZ mono rear, wider 18 police wheels and Yoshimura motor.

Yorba Linda Cal.

• porchev914
  • User
  • Whats that? Half of my swingarm is missing?!?!?
More
23 Jul 2010 10:19 #384926 by porchev914
Replied by porchev914 on topic Sanding and primer
Yeah, what he said B)

FRANKEN Z!
1978 KZ1000 A2A with 08'Speed Triple SSSA and '06 GSXR1000 front end

More
23 Jul 2010 11:16 #384954 by TexasKZ
Replied by TexasKZ on topic Sanding and primer
There are a couple of good threads about tank painting on this site. give the search engine a whirl.

1982 KZ1000 LTD parts donor
1981 KZ1000 LTD awaiting resurrection
2000 ZRX1100 not ridden enough

More
23 Jul 2010 14:16 #384995 by bountyhunter
Replied by bountyhunter on topic Sanding and primer
Don't use steel wool because the particles embed and then rust themselves.

1979 KZ-750 Twin

More
24 Jul 2010 15:39 #385301 by kzbobber1
Replied by kzbobber1 on topic Sanding and primer