Need some sanding help

More
10 May 2007 01:18 #138776 by pollocksn
Need some sanding help was created by pollocksn
Ok fellas I am about ready to sand down all of my body pieces and get them ready for paint. I have never done anything like this before so I dont know how to even start. I am going to have my brother shoot it for me (he cusomizes private jets) He lives about three hours away so I need to get all this done by myself before he comes up. What grit do I start with do you have any tips? All of the pieces are good with no cracks so I will not need to do any filler or dent work. Do I just sand it down to the bare metal? Any help will be appreciated!!!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 May 2007 06:24 - 03 Dec 2008 11:03 #138831 by JMKZHI
Replied by JMKZHI on topic .
del
Last edit: 03 Dec 2008 11:03 by JMKZHI.

More
10 May 2007 06:42 #138836 by KZErider
Replied by KZErider on topic Need some sanding help
Go to the thread at the top of the Paint&Bodywork forum list -- How to: paint you bike. It'll probably answer most of your questions.

Good luck on your paint job!:)

81 KZ750E2(project), 81 KZ750E2(parts donor), 87 BMW K 75C - got it runnin, didn't care for it, holding for family member, 79 CB650(project) Nomad 1700, VStar 950

• Pterosaur
  • Visitor
10 May 2007 06:45 #138839 by Pterosaur
Replied by Pterosaur on topic Need some sanding help
Depends on how trick you want to get.

Sanding to achieve what would otherwise be known as *quality* results - especially over previous paint is literally an art form in itself. The reason is that breaking through a paint edge automatically forms a low spot that requires a technique known as "feathering" to prevent low spots, ripples and washboarding from appearing in any primer/paint layers that are applied over it.