headstock swap/ legal issues with VIN

More
02 Jan 2013 20:39 #565610 by thatsclever
headstock swap/ legal issues with VIN was created by thatsclever
So I'm brand new to the bike modding world (read paying someone to weld my frame)and am kicking around the idea of raking and swapping out the headstock on my 83 440. I talked to my frame guy and he told me that I should be careful with the swap due to the fact that the vin numbers are on the headstock.
So what im asking is... Is there a way that i can legaly put my vin number on a new headstock?
How many incompetent bureaucrats am i going to have to go through in order to build a legal bike.

Thanks in advance

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
02 Jan 2013 20:44 - 02 Jan 2013 20:45 #565612 by 531blackbanshee
Replied by 531blackbanshee on topic headstock swap/ legal issues with VIN
check your local dmv.
an altered vin is typically a felony in most states i believe.if you can cut your neck out and clean the neck and save the vin just re-use the neck and rebuild your frame to it,without altering the vin and you will prolly be fine.
again don't take anyones word fo it chekc your local dmv for the LAW!

leon

skiatook,oklahoma 1980 z1r,1978 kz 1000 z1r x 3,
1976 kz 900 x 3
i make what i can,and save the rest!

billybiltit.blogspot.com/

www.kzrider.com/forum/5-chassis/325862-triple-tree-custom-work

kzrider.com/forum/5-chassis/294594-frame-bracing?limitstart=0
Last edit: 02 Jan 2013 20:45 by 531blackbanshee.
The following user(s) said Thank You: thatsclever

More
02 Jan 2013 20:48 #565613 by thatsclever
Replied by thatsclever on topic headstock swap/ legal issues with VIN
That's been the general consensus.

More
02 Jan 2013 22:06 #565626 by Nebr_Rex
Replied by Nebr_Rex on topic headstock swap/ legal issues with VIN