KZ750 H2 1981 FRONT WHEEL TIGHTENING PROBLEM

• angel_uk
  • Topic Author
  • User
  • Wildlife Artist and adventurer by any means!
More
16 Aug 2010 12:09 #391414 by angel_uk
hi riders

please can you advise.

having now replaced the tires to bridestones. we tighten the wheel axle nut, following by the clamp nut. we don't have a torque wrench. the wheel is too stiff. you can loosen it off, but you can't have the wheel too tight and definately not loose.

is there some harry potters magic to correctly tightening a front wheel guys?

guess who has never done this before. i'm a student and can't afford big $... taking it to my local bike shop.
i want to learn to do it correctly. not rely on other well paid mechanics!.. our local shop charges $40 per hour plus VAT! :-(

any advice greatly appreciated!. i will always think of all of you, when i service my bike!.. supervised of course by my dad!..

best wishes to all of you!

angie

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
16 Aug 2010 16:20 #391479 by RonKZ650
Replied by RonKZ650 on topic KZ750 H2 1981 FRONT WHEEL TIGHTENING PROBLEM
No matter how tight you tighten the axle, the wheel should spin freely. If not you probably have the speedo drive not installed correctly. There are 2 tangs that have to go in 2 slots when it's installed correctly. If you've tried to tighten the axle with the drive not lined up correctly it may be damaged so look there first.

321,000 miles on KZ's that I can remember. Not going to see any more.

• angel_uk
  • Topic Author
  • User
More
16 Aug 2010 16:22 #391481 by angel_uk
Replied by angel_uk on topic KZ750 H2 1981 FRONT WHEEL TIGHTENING PROBLEM
hi

many thanks for your message. i've slotted the speedo in place. in between the two tangs.

cheers buddy

hog

• angel_uk
  • Topic Author
  • User
More
19 Aug 2010 15:11 #392203 by angel_uk
hi riders