'81 KZ650 CSR - need a part

More
13 May 2009 18:01 - 13 May 2009 18:10 #290913 by matkz650ku
'81 KZ650 CSR - need a part was created by matkz650ku
Hey all,

I just picked up an '81 kz650 and need to get two things done before I can even think of starting to run it on the streets. Since I'm pretty new to this all, I was hoping I could get some help.

1) Leaking petcock: Fuel is leaking from the petcock, I'm not sure how to tell if it's just the gaskets or not. I'm planning on getting a rebuild kit and hoping that will solve the problem. How do I know if I need just a valve gasket or a complete kit?

2) Rear break piece missing: The rear break is missing the connector/sleeve piece that connects the rear brake pushrod to the lever on the drum brakes. I have tried looking at parts diagrams and can' seem to find it. Can someone help me identify the piece and where to get it?

edit: I think i found it, is this it? www.z1enterprises.com/detail.aspx?ID=3217

Hopefully the community here is able to help me get this bike together so I can start riding with everyone.
Last edit: 13 May 2009 18:10 by matkz650ku.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
13 May 2009 18:36 - 13 May 2009 18:37 #290927 by Patton
Replied by Patton on topic '81 KZ650 CSR - need a part
Hello, matkz650ku, and WELCOME to KZR! :)
We're glad you're here! :cheer:

You're in good hands with Z1E.

Hard to guess about the petcock. If doubtful, would probably go for the full kit.

If not already fitted with an inline fuel filter, would also order and install one of those (a pair of them if running dual fuel lines).

Good Luck! :)

1973 Z1
KZ900 LTD
Last edit: 13 May 2009 18:37 by Patton.

More
13 May 2009 20:48 - 13 May 2009 20:51 #290994 by JMKZHI
Replied by JMKZHI on topic '81 KZ650 CSR - need a part
I have the same bike. Z1Enterprises.com has a K&L petcock rebuild kit - I installed one several years ago. K&L parts are made in Japan & OEM quality.