Front Mater Cylinder Issue KZ000 Z1R

More
20 Sep 2007 13:36 #171813 by SR2JR
Hey Folks, I have a front master cylinder on my 1978 KZ1000 Z1R that is no longer pushing fluid through the lines. I assume the rubber gaskets on the piston assembly are leaking. The original piston assembly has been discontinued. I found one promising replacement. It looks like the right part and is the right size (5/8"), but the part numbers don't match. I ordered it anyways and will give it a try but if it doesn't work. . .does anyone have any ideas how I may be able to get my bike back on the road?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
20 Sep 2007 15:09 #171823 by Patton
Replied by Patton on topic Front Mater Cylinder Issue KZ000 Z1R
SR2JR wrote:

Hey Folks, I have a front master cylinder on my 1978 KZ1000 Z1R that is no longer pushing fluid through the lines. I assume the rubber gaskets on the piston assembly are leaking. The original piston assembly has been discontinued. I found one promising replacement. It looks like the right part and is the right size (5/8"), but the part numbers don't match. I ordered it anyways and will give it a try but if it doesn't work. . .does anyone have any ideas how I may be able to get my bike back on the road?

Fingers crossed for possibily an easier fix and hoping that perhaps the existing m/c may be refurbished, so forgive some guesswork here.

Failure to push fluid at caliper bleed could result from air in the line curable by bleeding the system -- but of course you already know that -- so am assuming failure to push fluid from the m/c itself at the banjo joint. But even a leaking primary cup should push some fluid, whereas a missing primary cup would not push any fluid.