Headlight Relay - problem not switching Hi / Low - KZ1000-D1 Restoration

• philwarth@gmail.com
  • Topic Author
  • User
More
01 Apr 2020 15:15 #822417 by philwarth@gmail.com
This is my first time on this forum.
I'm in the final stages of a restoration of a 1978 Z1-R.
I installed a H4 headlight relay kit from Beaver Power in Japan.
After connecting it directly to the battery and then plugging in the old headlight power, there is no difference between Hi or Low.
Plus the bike now thinks there is no headlight and the Headlight Warning lights up on the dash.

The relay kit says to disconnect the original Bk/Y ground wire since it's not used but this is the common ground for the warning system.

I contacted John at Beaver Power and suggested removing the headlight warning system.

Anyone have thoughts on how to do this?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• DOHC
  • Sustaining Member
  • Those Doe-Hawks really go!
More
01 Apr 2020 18:16 #822434 by DOHC
The reserve lighting system is likely the problem, or at least a problem. It turns the other headlight filament on when it senses offer is blown open. Your aftermarket light is not going to be detected correctly, so that might be why both are on. Did you try unplugging the control box? It's under the right side cover. I'll have to look at the wiring diagram to see if you need to jumper around it to disable the system.

'78 Z1-R in blue , '78 Z1-R in black, '78 Z1-R in pieces
My dad's '74 Z1
'00 ZRX1100
The following user(s) said Thank You: philwarth@gmail.com

• DOHC
  • Sustaining Member
More
01 Apr 2020 18:40 #822436 by DOHC

• Scirocco
  • Premium Member
  • Never change a running system
More
02 Apr 2020 00:13 #822448 by Scirocco
In case anyone need a coloured wiring diagram....

Attachments:
The following user(s) said Thank You: martin_csr

More
02 Apr 2020 07:50 - 02 Apr 2020 07:52 #822460 by martin_csr
Here's a wiring diagram from the Kawasaki FSM. Open image in new window to enlarge.