Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC:

Confused. Regulato/Rectifier combo vs. OEM separate Reg/Rec on a KZ650 06 Dec 2018 20:25 #794750

• 650Dude
  • 650Dude's Avatar Topic Author
  • User is blocked
  • Thank you received: 19
I ordered a reg./rec from Ricks Motorsport because mine failed. Ive never even looked at the thing and its so cold in NY I havent looked under the side cover to see where it is.

But I did look at the manual.

It seems the OEM set up (correct me if Im wrong) is a separate rectifier and separate regulator. I bought a regulator/rectifier combo from ricks. How the heck do I wire this thing if this is s solid unit and OEM are two separate units?

Im just learning this stuff.
1977 Kawasaki KZ650B
1977 Kawasaki KZ750 Twin

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Confused. Regulato/Rectifier combo vs. OEM separate Reg/Rec on a KZ650 06 Dec 2018 20:39 #794751

• SWest
  • Sustaining Member
  • 10 22 2014
  • Thank you received: 2610
Pics would help.
Steve

Confused. Regulato/Rectifier combo vs. OEM separate Reg/Rec on a KZ650 06 Dec 2018 20:42 #794752

• 650ed
  • User
  • Thank you received: 2828
It is impossible to successfully order parts without knowing exactly which parts you need.

Over the few years of production the KZ650 models used 3 or 4 totally different charging systems. So before you place an order for replacement parts it is imperative that you know exactly which system your bike came with. It would help if you would put the exact year and model of your motorcycle in your signature line. Doing that might enable someone on this site to provide accurate advice regarding parts for your bike. Ed
1977 KZ650-C1 Original Owner - Stock (with additional invisible FIAMM horn)

Confused. Regulato/Rectifier combo vs. OEM separate Reg/Rec on a KZ650 06 Dec 2018 20:45 #794753

• 650Dude
  • User is blocked

SWest wrote: Pics would help.
Steve