Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

1977 KZ400 Wiring Driagram Approval 07 Sep 2015 07:56 #688988

• chiefkeef88
  • chiefkeef88's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
Hello all, my name is Scott. I'm a soldier based out of the southwest and recently inherited a half way finished KZ400 project. One of the many hurdle's is doing a complete rewiring. I have searched and posted on another KZ forum which now appears to cease to exist and got no replies, so I figured I would try this one and see what you all thought. Attached is a wiring diagram that I have 'frankensteined' from many others I have found online as well as this rough guide on bike exif: www.bikeexif.com/motorcycle-wiring. Please if you could, look over it real quick and let me know what you think needs to be fixed or changed. Some things to consider;
1. It's kick start only 1977 KZ400S3
2. Only running head and tail light on the accesories circuit for now. Considering adding a horn/speedo illum soon
3. Combined Rick's Rec/Reg
4. Still running points system
5. Dyna Coil
6. 3 position key ignition

Again please let me know what you think. Im here to learn/not blow any of my parts haha. Thanks in advance.

- Scott
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1977 KZ400 Wiring Driagram Approval 07 Sep 2015 13:00 #689030

• loudhvx
  • KZr Legend
  • Thank you received: 1615
That does not look right. The green wire is typically the field coil wire, and the white wire is the rectifier output, so if sticking with stock wiring colors, those two wires should have their colors swapped.

I can draw a simplified diagram if you have a diagram (I will look to see if I have one already).

1977 KZ400 Wiring Driagram Approval 07 Sep 2015 14:05 #689039

• loudhvx
  • KZr Legend
It's on the last page of the Mattylight thread.
kzrider.com/forum/4-electrical/172746-19...ght?start=360#689038

Last edit: by loudhvx.