KZ1000R and Dyna S ignition

More
29 Nov 2013 09:16 - 29 Nov 2013 09:16 #614361 by tommyboah
KZ1000R and Dyna S ignition was created by tommyboah
Hi,

Newbie here...

I'm in the middle of a cafe racer build and I am doing some planning with regards to the electrics on my bike. I have a '83 KZ1000R2 which I am going to swap the stock ignition with a Dyna S ignition with Dyna Coils. The IC igniter unit on the bike, what excactly is the purpose of this, and what does this do compared to the Dyna S? Do I need the IC igniter when I am running a Dyna S instead of the stock ignition?

I value some input. Thanks.

----
Tommyboy

.Tommyboy
Last edit: 29 Nov 2013 09:16 by tommyboah.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• 4TheKZ1000
  • Visitor
29 Nov 2013 09:23 #614362 by 4TheKZ1000
Replied by 4TheKZ1000 on topic KZ1000R and Dyna S ignition
If you run a Dyna-S, the igniter comes off bike.....you don't use it.

More
29 Nov 2013 09:58 #614365 by MFolks
Replied by MFolks on topic KZ1000R and Dyna S ignition
The "IC Igniter" actually give the stock system the grounds, so the ignition coils fire, sparking the plugs. As mentioned, if you go with the Dyna "S", you will need to remove the IC Igniter from the bike.

1982 GPZ1100 B2
General Dynamics/Convair 1983-1993
GLCM BGM-109 Tomahawk, AGM-129A Advanced Cruise Missile (ACM)

More
29 Nov 2013 13:26 #614380 by rstnick
Replied by rstnick on topic KZ1000R and Dyna S ignition
Welcome Tommy.
Why swap to a Dyna S when you already have a factory electronic ignition?
Unless of course there are issues with the current set up.

Do post up some pictures of your R.
B)

Rob
CANADA

Need a key for your Kawasaki? PM me

1978 KZ650 C2, 130K kms, Delkevic ex, EI, CVK32, PMC easy clutch, ATK fork brace, steering damper, braced swingarm, 18" Z1R front wheel.
2000 ZRX1100
2011 Ninja 250R
2005 z750s

More
29 Nov 2013 13:54 #614383 by tommyboah
Replied by tommyboah on topic KZ1000R and Dyna S ignition