cylinders 2 and 3 randomly cut out?

More
02 Oct 2013 17:44 #608587 by holmes
cylinders 2 and 3 randomly cut out? was created by holmes
Hey everyone, im new to the site, and this is my first post. i have a 79 kz650 tat i bought about 6 months ago and its my first bike. its got accel coils, and according to the P.O., it has the 810 big bore kit. lately as im riding, cylinders 2 and 3 cut out randomley and then come back after varrying amounts of time. sometimes i can ride for a month without an incident, and sometimes it will happen 2 times in one ride. im no motorycle expert, but my intuition told me it was an electrical issue, so i replaced the coil that runs cylinders 2 and 3, but no luck, idk what else the problem could be, ive spent many hours following wires and checking connections, but i didnt find any problems. any suggestions?

1979 kz650 c3
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
02 Oct 2013 18:06 #608588 by 650ed
Replied by 650ed on topic cylinders 2 and 3 randomly cut out?
Welcome aboard! The charging and firing of each coil is controlled by a set of points. Over time, points will pit, and this will eventually degrade performance. You may have one set of points that is more pitted than the other, and it may be causing the problem you describe. If you do not know when the last time the points were replaced it is probably overdue. When replacing the points you should also replace the condensers (they are adjacent to the points) and lube the points cam and the rubbing block wick (everything is i the same vicinity).

Do you have a Kawasaki Service Manual?

Ed

1977 KZ650-C1 Original Owner - Stock (with additional invisible FIAMM horn)
The following user(s) said Thank You: holmes

More
02 Oct 2013 22:37 #608609 by holmes
Replied by holmes on topic cylinders 2 and 3 randomly cut out?
no service manual yet, is there any one in particular thats better than another? i was planning to get a clymer.

1979 kz650 c3

More