Not another charging issue thread.....

More
24 Jul 2013 01:02 - 24 Jul 2013 02:06 #598007 by murr50
I hate to open up another thread on charging issues, but I have done lots of reading through old threads, and some testing, but am very unfamiliar with electronics...

Here is what I've got so far:
Last year the bike charged fine, with no issues. Moved across the country. Motorcycle spent a week in a moving truck. Arrived here, and I did some engine work, but touched no wiring. Put the bike back together, and am now having charging issues.

It appears the previous owner changed out the old regulator and rectifier for a reg/rec combo (7 wires) See picture.
green - ground
Red - battery
blue - relay
orange - stator
3 yellow - stator

I attempted to test resistance between the yellow wires from the stator but my voltmeter gives no reading at Rx1 Rx10 and Rx100..... The needle doesnt even move. I am not sure if I have done something wrong here or what. I have no experience testing electronics.

Also, the red wire that goes to the battery looks as though it has shorted out in the past (see picture). I am not sure if this means that something in the rec is fried or what. Also, I am not sure if this was like that before the bike stopped charging.

Anyways, I just have a hard time believing that this seemingly new Reg/rec would be toast. I have also been reading that the stators on the 77's are pretty much bullet-proof. I am aiming towards this burnt connection. Is there any way to test this?

Sorry for the extremely long winded question, but that you very much for the help.

1977 kz650 C
Last edit: 24 Jul 2013 02:06 by murr50.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Motor Head
  • User
  • FIX UP YOUR BIKE RIGHT AND CHEAP
More
24 Jul 2013 09:19 #598033 by Motor Head
Replied by Motor Head on topic Not another charging issue thread.....